Nov. 19, 2006,21:35

older
profile
notes
videosongs
old songs
face
songs
The Bass Song
back forth








My hand is sore because its been a long time since I've played the bass guitar this much. I love the feel of the strings, sliding down the fretboard.

It's poetry in itself, however, I either lack the skill to put it into words, or maybe I am just selfish and don't want to.

I will explain this: when I play, it's such an amazing feeling. It's not just about making the music and making the sound, it acts like a percussion instrument, because it keeps the beat, along with the drums. Sometimes, I even use it like that. But I can just close my eyes and FEEL the bass, feel the kilohertz of sound that are so low that I probably am not hearing them anyways. And when you mix that with the rest of the music, it just fills in so much. To hear anyone play music without a bass player, to me, makes the music they play feel and sound so empty.

I think more than anything, I was surprised that I could still play as well as I did after not playing for months and months. Now I am looking at buying one of my own. I miss it.